Sunda – Chicago.

My first restaurant review is one my favorite restaurants, maybe of all time: Sunda New Asian. At Sunda they showcase East and Southeast Asian dishes.  They have some of the best dishes in Chicago.  The best way to dine at Sunda is to try a little bit of everything.  The atmosphere inside is very trendy and a Chicago hotspot for celebrities.  I have to brag, I was there once when the cast of Glee was in Chicago and met Heather Morris (Britney) on Glee.  The interior design is beautiful and there are seats available by the sushi bar in the restaurant too.  The restaurant is a go-to place for people from their 20’s on.  Go with a group, go with your girlfriends, or for a date.  If you are in luck you will see  celebrity or 2.  Celebrities and famous athletes like Derek Jeter, Kanye West, Kristin Cavalari have been seen dining at Sunda.

I am a VERY picky eater and at most restaurants and I usually like to stick to one or two go-to items.  At Sunda though, I have so many favorites it’s hard to decide so I usually go tapas style and have a little bit of everything so I leave nothing out.  I am so confident in the good food at Sunda I have tried many things that I normally would not try anywhere else and end up loving it (aka Brussel Sprout Salad).  A Typical dinner for me and a friend or a group looks a little something like this:

  • Rock Shrimp Tempura *MUST HAVE*
  • Lemongrass Beef Lollipops
  • Pork Belly – Bao Buns *MUST HAVE*
  • Brussel Sprout Salad
  • Baked Snow Crab Handroll
If you love jalepenos and bacon? Sounds weird I know, the Crunchy Pig, Hidden Dragon is a must.  The combination of lobster, avocado, bacon, jalepenos, with a sweet chili sauce in this specialty roll is amazing.
If you love a good Arnold Palmer, why not try the Strawberry Palmer, which is a mix of absolut wild tea mixed with strawberries, lemongrass and lemon juice topped off withlemon lime soda.
After an amazing tapas style dinner with friends, you cannot forget dessert.  My absolute favorite dessert is the tempura fried carrot cake.  It is pure LOVE in a dessert.
Because of the “hot spot” name Sunda has earned in the Chicago scene – it is best to make reservations ahead of time.  But if you are a Cheeky card holder, you can cut the line ANY night of the week and enjoy 10% off the entire bill (The fine print: Up to four guests per party . The 10% off is not valid with other offers and is only good Sunday through Thursday.)
One thought on “Sunda – Chicago.

Leave a Reply

