Commandments of Blush – Only 6!

I from time to time, have a love/hate relationship with blush.   Sometimes it decides to stay all day, other times it likes to look splotchy and seperate?  So what is a girl to do when one of the best ways to look polished and put together, can make you look like a hot mess?  I recently read an Allure article on the “10 Commandments of Blush” and my love for blush, instantly was rekindled. After all, it was my own personal vendetta, but I know that you may have your own personal war with your blush, for one reason or another.

Here are the tips I have taken and put my own spin on from the article that will make you fall in love with blush again, for good.

 1. First things first, keep your blush believable.  Makeup artist and creator, Laura Mercier explains, “The whole idea of putting color on your cheeks is to mimic a healthy glow.” The easiest way for me to get a natural blushed color is to find one that complements my skin, with that, I then pop a bright pink color on the apple of my cheeks.

2. Cream blushes, powder blushes, shimmer bricks, multiple sticks, etc. Find your soul mate.  I have learned that unless my skin is fully hydrated, (which is a lose-lose during these winter months) powder blushes will separate mid-day on me, leaving me looking like I have pink splotches all over my cheeks.  So my solution has been cream blushes.

What O-Glow is formulated to do:
Experience instant chemistry as you watch your complexion go from so-so to oh-so-glowing! This intuitive cheek color reacts with your personal skin chemistry to transform from a silky clear gel into the shade you blush naturally

3. Choose your brush wisely: This is normally were people go wrong.  When you are putting a bright pink blush, it will not look right if it is covering your entire cheek when you are using your bronzer brush (huge no-no).  You either want to use a good fan brush to create a soft effect for bright powdered blush. I love Laura Mercier’s Fan Powder Brush $30For a precise blushed more dramatic look, I use my Bobbi Brown Blush Brush $50The popular Blush Brush has been updated with a more rounded brush head and luxuriously softer bristles. Brush is shaped to apply the perfect amount of color on cheeks. (Always tap a little off).

4. Give it a base.  Think of your nails, hair, and eyes.  Your nails will always look better and last longer with great base coat or ridge filler.  Your hair will always look shinier with a shine/smooth serum, your eyes will always pull pigment more if you apply a primer.  What makes you think your face isn’t the same way? Don’t apply blush cold turkey. First and most importantly – Moisturize. Moisturize. Moisturize.  For me that’s still not enough in the winter to keep my blush from separating.  Use a face primer, that way you have a smooth base for your blush to go over.  Try Smashbox Photo Finish Light Primer $36 (Oil Free, water based).

5. Placement. Placement. Placement. Where you place your blush is huge. Always, always, always, smile while you are applying blush. For the most natural look, begin at the top of your apple (deposits the most pigment there, where the rosiness would appear naturally). Bring your brush up on an angle and blend outward, toward the ear. (See my February Favorites Video to see how I apply my blush).

6. Don’t overblush. For women with rosacea, go easy with the rosy and pink toned blushes.  First, tone down the redness with your favorite foundation; one of my newest obsessions is Estee Lauder BB Cream – with SPF, moisture, and coverage. You will want to use peach, bronze, or even a brownish rose.

What are your favorite blushes or tips/tricks you use?

5 thoughts on “Commandments of Blush – Only 6!

  1. Sunny

    Thanks for the tips Justine! I’m still a beginner when it comes to blushes, so all I want is not going out looking like a clown at the moment, but I’m sure the rest will come with time and practice!

    Reply
  2. Amanda Ferrise

    I never wear blush!!! But you have changed my mind…I love the peach color!! I can’t wait to buy my new blush and brushes 🙂 thanks girl

    Reply

Leave a Reply

