RPM Italian

photo 1

There’s something to be said about a restaurant that has great food, fabulous decor and phenomenal customer service. It’s safe to say RPM is the Nordstrom of the Chicago food scene (and you all know how I feel about Nordstrom). As soon as I stepped inside the Rancic + Melman establishment, I knew the hype and month-long wait to get in was well worth it. With complimentary Prosecco served as my friend and I waited for our table, we knew this was going to not only be a delicious meal, but an overall great dining experience.

photo 3

We started off our RPM experience with their homemade ricotta and semolina toast which was simply….DELICIOUS!

photo 4

As a seasoned calamari expert, I had to order the Fritto Misto which included calamari and shrimp with an aioli sauce to compliment. The combo was delicious and joins my list of favorite calamari dishes.

photo 1 copy

We also ordered two pasta dishes: Potato Gnocchi with Sunday Gravy and the Maine Lobster Ravioli – both were absolutely perfect. If you’re a gnocchi lover, you have to try this dish (shown above) served with a mixture of short rib, ground beef and pork sausage, topped with pecorino cheese. The Maine Lobster Ravioli was perfectly cooked with plenty of lobster in the dish. I’m not sure if it was my sensitive taste buds, but the pasta sauce had a little bit of a kick to it.

Items on their menu are served ‘tapas style’ (small plates), that are meant to be shared. The idea is that you order several different items from the menu (depending on how many people you’re with) and this way you get to taste a little bit of everything.

photo 3

For dessert, we ordered the highly recommended Tartufo! Hazelnut gelato trapped inside a delicious chocolate shell that was nothing short of delicious! What I loved most about the dessert was the refreshing and not too heavy taste after a night of guiltless carb-o-loading.

Overall, this was one of my favorite restaurant experiences and my new favorite LEYE spot! I plan to make this an every 4-5 month dining experience with a goal of trying everything on the menu. Who wants to help? Any recommendations for next time?

photo copy 3

I kept my word on what to wear for a GNO, what do you think?

justine

8 thoughts on “RPM Italian

Leave a Reply

