(11) What’s in HER bag?

One of the best parts about blogging is meeting other bloggers who have the same interests as you. Laurie, the creative brain behind 312 Beauty, is who I consider to be a beauty-guru. Her love for beauty is contagious and I couldn’t be happier to share her favorite beauty products and splurges with you!

Laurie_Leopold_Headshot

Since the weather outside can’t seem to warm up, I’ve officially relied on Laurie’s makeup bag and products to get me in spring mode!

312-Beauty-Makeup-Bag

The bag itself is by Stephanie Johnson — the Alex Sparkle Cosmetic. I’m in spring mode right now (hence the multitude of pink lips and cheeks!)

Face: Miracle Skin Transformer Vanish, Le Metier de Beaute Peau Vierge, NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer, Benefit fakeup Concealer, Benefit Watt’s Up Highlighter

Cheeks: Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-hr Blush in Amused, Jouer Bronzer in Suntan, BECCA Beach Tint in Fig

Eyes: Tarte Eyelash Curler, NARS Single Eyeshadows in Abyssinia and Lhasa, Jouer Crème Eyeshadow Crayon in Baroque, NARS Eyeliner Stylo in Carpates, Anastasia Brow Wiz, Make Up For Ever Eye Prime, Youngblood Eye-Illuminating Duo, Flower Zoom-in Ultimate Mascara

Lips: Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Sweet Violet, Fresh Sugar Petal, Jouer Hydrating Lipstick in Whitney, NARS Satin Lip Pencil in Rikugien

SITNB: What’s your favorite beauty product of all time?
Laurie: 
Tough question!  And one I always over-analyze because so many of my favorite products are newer. Technology and ingredients are constantly improving! But, truly –- and this is one of those products that people love LOVE or intensely hate – I treasure my NARS Orgasm Blush. I’ve had it forever and I go in waves with wearing it, but it’s always amazing and just the perfect color on my cheeks.

SITNB: If you had to pick three key beauty items what would they be?
Laurie: 
Tinted Moisturizer, Black Liquid Liner and Bronzer. I’m lucky to have long, dark lashes so I often forgo mascara and instead just line my upper lash line with liquid liner.

SITNB: Who is your beauty inspiration?
Laurie: I’m constantly pinning beauty inspiration (see here!). I love women who own their unique beauty – a strong brow or extra full lips, for example, and develop a signature around it. As far as celebs, I love Jessica Chastain and Allison Williams. They both wear makeup flawlessly and have a natural beauty quality about them.

SITNB: What was your biggest beauty no-no (come on, we all have had them)?
Laurie: 
I worked at a tanning salon in high school, so 1999 was just a huge no-no overall. And there was that time in college where I had a monthly unlimited pass. Thankfully I quit that before I did too much damage. Plus, we all know better now right?

SITNB: Guys want to know, how much do you really spend on makeup?
Laurie: Do they really want to know? Ignorance may be bliss in this instance! I have months where I go a little nuts, but for the most part I reign it in and only splurge on a few items.  That said, I have my moments where I pay $60 for a lip balm (cough…By Terry Baume de Rose…cough).

SITNB: When did you first start wearing makeup?
Laurie: I went to Catholic school through 6th grade, so once I graduated to junior high I really discovered makeup. I used to ride my bike to Walgreen’s and buy CoverGirl eyeshadows.

SITNB: What has been your biggest beauty splurge?
Laurie: Le Metier de Beaute Peau Vierge Treatment Fluid— which I just bought in February. It’s an ultra-thin, semi-sheer tinted moisturizer but it has Retinol and more skincare benefits. Splurging that much (eek— $125+!) gave me a little anxiety at the on-set, but I’m so happy to have this in my routine. I fear the day the bottle runs out!

SITNB: Do you have a product that changed your life?
Laurie: Yes! Discovering eye shadow primer has made the biggest difference in my beauty routine. It’s the difference between smeary eye makeup and flawless makeup all day.

Thank you again, Laurie!
Make sure to check out 312 Beauty for all your beauty news and fun!

Do you know someone that would like to be interviewed for their OBPD (obsessive beauty product disorder)? Please email me at shrtisthenewblack@gmail.com

justine

 

7 thoughts on “(11) What’s in HER bag?

  1. sabrinasouffle

    I love reading about what other stylish ladies have in their bag! Seeing what others buy defiantly influences my purchases (especially beautiful ladies who know what their doin’!).

    Reply
  2. corinna

    I’m just writing a post about new season makeup bag overhaul, and was googling Stephanie bag images, as I only use her bags, and have done for years, and I found this post. I adore it!! I’m stealing your pic and linking this post! I think its so fab. Email me if you want it taken down xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

