(13) WHAT’S IN HER BAG?

For my 13th “What’s in her Bag?” post, I’m proud to have a lovely lady who represents all things fun and fabulous in Chicago. Amelia, one of the beauties behind The CHICago Life Blog, is ready to share some of her favorite beauty products and give us the inside scoop on what she carries in her makeup bag.

whats-in-her-bag

Read further to find out Amelia’s biggest beauty splurge, which I just might (read: definitely will) add to my collection too!

makeup

Amelia’s makeup bag:

SITNB: What’s your favorite beauty product of all time?
Amelia: Probably Bobbi Brown’s pot rouge.  While I’ve started to experiment with powered blushes (mostly just for fun) I still think the potted rouge is genius and so low maintenance.

SITNB: If you had to pick three key beauty items what would they be?
Amelia: My Hourglass “Riviera” Lipstick, a good blush and coconut oil – I use it for everything.

SITNB: Who is your beauty inspiration?
Amelia: Definitely, Lauren Hutton.  Then, and now!  I think she’s one of the ultimate American beauties, and I’m obsessed with how she’s aged 100% naturally and gracefully.  I’m all about taking the best care of your skin possible, and then letting the chips (read: wrinkles) fall where they may.  Let the lines and spots tell your story.

SITNB: What is your biggest beauty no-no?
Amelia: I’ve had some bad eyebrows over the years!  I think “over plucking” is a teenage right of passage.

SITNB:  Guys want to know…..How much do you really spend on makeup?
Amelia: I admittedly spend a borderline obnoxious amount of money on makeup, but I try to buy products that I’ll be able to use with out spending an obnoxious amount of time.  I’m all about saving money and finding the best deal, but when it comes to my skin I don’t like to cut too many corners.

SITNB: When did you first start wearing makeup?
Amelia: I probably started playing around with makeup in 8th or 9th grade, but just wearing it for fun… not on a daily basis, and heaven forbid I wear it to my Catholic school!  I do remember my mom buying me a Bobbi Brown makeup book though, and saying if you’re going to wear makeup it’s going to look “right”.  That might be why I’m still obsessed with Bobbi Brown to this day!

SITNB: What has been your biggest beauty splurge?
Amelia: I have a $50 lipgloss from Hourglass that I’m in love with!  I thought the price was so asinine at first, but after reading about it I had to have it, and now I’m worried that I might not be able to live without it once it runs out!  The beginning of a bad habit is the best part, right?

SITNB: Do you have a product that has changed your life?
Amelia: The Bobbi Brown Full Coverage Face Brush is pretty amazing!  It makes your skin look flawless but never gives you that “makeup-y” look.

For more on Amelia and The CHICago Life Blog, be sure to check out their blog here.

Are you interested in being featured on the next “What’s in HER bag?” Email me at shrtisthenewblack@gmail.com for more information.

One thought on “(13) WHAT’S IN HER BAG?

  1. Stephanie

    I’ve never tried the Bobbi Brown Pot Rouge, but I’ve heard so many good things about them. I’ll have to put that on my products to try list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

